Natural Newbie: Nicole

Hi My Cakers Bakers and Beauties!
I’ve decided to do posts featuring other naturals, there’s only so much I can write about myself, plus I don’t want anyone to get bored! The first natural I interviewed was Nicole:
Image
Image
Please Introduce Yourself,
How old are you? Where are you from? What do you do for a living?
Hey, my name is Nicole. I am 29 years old and I come from London. I am a freelance photographer and a youth theatre drama facilitator volunteer.

How long have you been natural?

I have been natural for 10 days now. Since the 1st June 2013:-)

 
Why did you go natural?
Because I was sick of relaxing hair and my relaxed hair was very damaged. I knew in my heart I was never going to relax my hair again, the last time it was done, which was the 3rd March 2013.
 
Also I wanted to embrace my natural hair as my hair hasn’t been natural for 19 years.      My hair was first relaxed at age 11. I think this is something I wanted to do as I approach 30. I want to spend the years 30-60 loving myself for who I really am as in my first 30 years, there wasn’t much of that going on.
 
Another reason I have gone natural is to get to know my hair and how to look after it properly and to teach my daughter that her hair is beautiful just the way it is.
 
 Did you Transition or Big Chop? if you transitioned how long did you transition and why?
I began to transition from the 3rd March but by the 1st June I was tired of dealing with the two different textures so I done the Big Chop. In all honesty, I started to hate the straight ends. They were interfering with my curls 🙂
When you got rid of all your relaxed hair, how did you feel?
I cut all the relaxed ends off on the 1st June 2013. I felt great…..liberated…..and beautiful!!!!!
 
What reaction did you get from your partner/family/friends and colleagues when you started rocking your natural hair? 
My daughter and partner loved it and my family and friends!!!! Everybody except one loved it but I ain’t watching that because I love it and that’s the main thing.
 
Do you have a hair goal? If so please share it with us.
YES!!!! HEALTHY HAIR ALWAYS FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE….
I’m not really concerned about length as I still feel ultra feminine with my TWA. In fact I feel even more sensual as a woman with the cut 🙂

 

What’s your current favourite style? 
At the moment I’m just rocking it like it is with low manipulation as a TWA and loving it.
 
If you were stranded on a dessert island which 3 hair products would you want with you?
My Tressemme Naturals conditioner, olive oil, a good shampoo(Creme of Nature – Sulfate Free Shampoo, my hair loves this.)
What is your favourite hair tool, and why?
My afro comb because it feels so good to plump up my little ‘fro. I feel somewhere between being Jackie Brown and my lovely Grace Jones. Both hot mamas.
 
 Do you have a hair regime, if so what is it? 
 I co-wash 3-4 times a week to keep my hair lovely and soft and use a sulfate free shampoo about once a week and a deep condition. I have been ‘bagging’ a lot , where I just condition my hair before I go to bed and leave a steam cap on and put my little woolly hat on over it. I always wake up without the hat on but at least I tried.  To stop it from drying out in the day I regularly spritz with a  water and olive oil mix. I haven’t been too fused with curl definition as I am just enjoying my hair being in its natural state and don’t want to alter it.
 
Which person, or people with natural hair inspire or encourage you in your natural hair journey?
Oh definitely you Sian. You have educated me in a big way……also my 9 year old daughter…..I have a lot to teach her.

Have you faced any challenges or made any mistakes with your natural hair?
None…….only I got my hair washed at the barbers the other day as he BC’ed me for the second time. He dried my hair with a flannel and gave me a scalp massage. The challenge was having a barber full of “man dem” watching me shave off my head piece. They must have thought ‘she crazy’ or ‘probaly having a Britney moment’ if their faces were anything to go by!

Also my youngest nephew won’t come near me and has made it clear he doesn’t like my hair. He moves away when I go to kiss him now. I think he thinks I’ve changed into a boy:)
 
Do you have any advice for New Naturals or those who are thinking about going natural but haven’t stopped relaxing/perming/texurising yet?
I say just go for it. I have modelled in the past and am used to my hair being cut off for photo shoots, so I think that it is why I was so comfortable with the BC. But if you are someone who has a lot of length it may be best to just transition until your hair is at a length you feel comfortable with.

Also I would say don’t care about what other people think so much. They don’t pay your bills.
 
Has going natural made a positive change in other parts of your life? 
Yes definitely….I feel like my natural hair holds a lot of power. I feel like my hair says to others ‘this is me… I am comfortable in my own skin.’ There is power in that. Fake hair and everything else is an illusion of beauty. I am a realist and no longer have room for illusions in my life, creating them or perceiving them.

 Huge Thanks to Nicole for allowing me to interview her and thanks to you for reading.

Take Care

Luv

Sian

x

(sorry for the dodgy formatting there’s nothing I can do to fix it, I’ve tried everything!)

One thought on “Natural Newbie: Nicole

  1. Pingback: Big Chop!!!!!! | Picture Me Natural

Leave a Reply

