The Cake and Bake Show 2013

Hello My Cakers, Bakers and Beauties!

I attended the Cake & Bake Show on Friday 13th September 2013.

I didn’t really know what to expect as I didn’t attend the show last year and I intentionally didn’t do much research before going.

I’d like to say thanks to Celina F, she sent me a link for discount tickets to the C&BS while I was on holiday in Dom Rep and thanks to modern technology I was able to buy my tickets for £7 each, I bought one ticket to the actual show and a VIP ticket to the Cake Kitchen with Shelina Permalloo, for those of you who don’t know who Shelina is, she is the winner of 2012’s Masterchef (UK – the original and best version).

Shelina Winning Masterchef, she was the first female champion in seven years! (image from dailymail.com)

My Mum and I were rooting for Shelina since we first saw her on the show and we were so glad she won. From the beginning Shelina came across as very passionate about food, beautiful inside and out but humble too.  We were also really glad to see that as a “woman of colour” Shelina was always representing her Mauritian background and bringing those flavours and dishes into her amazing food.

I also have a bit of a girl crush on Shelina, I’m not ashamed to admit that I think she is incredibly sexy, she is curvy, pretty and can really cook! what’s not to fancy?!

The Cake and Bake show was held at Earls Court 1 in London. I went on my own so I could spend the entire day there perusing all the stalls and chatting to anyone and every one without my companion getting bored and making me feel like I have to rush.

The C&BS was huge! I dont think I got to visit every stall even though I was there from 11-5!  There was a lot of people selling baking related items which is to be expected really but I didn’t feel pressured in any way there were enough free samples and demos to keep me happy. I wish that there were more toilets because each time I had to good there was a long queue. In addition more savoury food on sale would have been nice, there were a couple of gourmet pie stalls within the show and the sandwich type places that are permanently at Earls Court but nowhere I could get a proper balanced meal, at least not on the Friday.

Now for the pictures!

SONY DSC

These guys were making instant ice cream using liquid nitrogen!

SONY DSC

Beautiful Meringues

SONY DSC

The Queen and Her corgi were entirely edible!

SONY DSC

Entirely Edible Woodland Scene

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC

All of the “fabric” on this bodice is edible lace – except the cris crossed ribbon

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

At the end of the day I was so happy to sit down at the cake kitchen and watch Shelina’s demonstration she made a pork stir fry dish and delicious white chocolate and cardamom cookies! I know they were delicious because the VIP  tickets holders were able to have a cookie each.

image

SONY DSC

Me, Shelina and yummy cookie!

That’s All Folks!

Sian

x

5 thoughts on “The Cake and Bake Show 2013

  1. Nice! I loved everything! Those cakes were awesome.
    Wish I had one of those cookies right now.
    A sistah is hungry, LOL!

    Toodles 🙂

Leave a Reply

