Let’s Catch Up!

Hello My Cakers Bakers and Beauties!

I’m so sorry that I haven’t posted in a while, I’ve been very busy and a little bit lazy to tell the truth.

I have still been baking and keeping up with my protective styling so I’ll be posting about some of the things I’ve been getting up to.

I have also joined the Kickin’ It With the Kinks Team! You can see my first video and blog post with the team here.

KIWTK Won the Award for Best Blog this year and I’m so happy to have joined the team at such an exciting time. I had a protective style of Twist Extensions at that time and I put them into a knotted updo, you can’t really see my hair in the photo below but you can see it more in the video.

kinks

 

I have also started an amazing exercise class called Wukkie Workout, it’s twice a week and it’s very tough but a lot of fun. I’ve been doing Wukkie since 7th November 2013 and I can already see and feel a difference in my body.  I’ll be writing more about Wukkie in a later post!

ilovewukkie

On 1st November 2013, I went to see a play called Crowning Glory by British Playwright Somalia Seaton.

I really enjoyed the play, on a basic level the play is about hair but it also explores themes such as cultural identity, beauty, bullying, “interracial” dating and stereotypes. In the play seven very different characters share their hair-related experiences with us.  One of the reasons I enjoyed the play so much was because, I am or have met every single one of the characters, some people may have thought that the dialogue was a bit extreme in places but these women do actually exist. It was so refreshing to hear the voice of the Black and British Woman in a production like this, I’m not saying that I haven’t learned anything from my African American Sisters, of course I have, but a lot of the time I can’t really connect with the American ladies hair stories because their vocabulary and experiences are so different from mine.

I’m really sorry I didn’t bring this play to your attention at the time because I wish more people would have seen it, I’m really hoping that the play runs again soon and goes on tour! You can read a more extensive and brilliant review (by fellow Blogger, Brit, Naturalista and friend Crystal Afro here.

I’d also like to thank Crystal again for organising the tickets and getting us all out to see the play together.

I’m conscious that my blog posts can be quite long at times so I’ll finish here and write more posts about what I’ve been up to in other posts.

Thanks for reading!

Luv Sian

x

2 thoughts on “Let’s Catch Up!

Leave a Reply

