Shaloy’s Big Chop!

Hello my Cakers, Bakers & Beauties!

My gorgeous “little” Cousin Shaloy has been wanting to return to her Natural Hair for a while now, Shaloy has seen me transition, big chop, colour, straighten, dye, bleach, henna and mini chop my Natural hair and decided that she was ready to go for it! Kudos to Shaloy because she knew transitioning was not for her and took the (what I consider to be brave) decision to big chop without transitioning. Shaloy had a head full of  healthy, long, thick relaxed hair and after a Summer spent back home in Jamaica, Shaloy called me up and asked me to go with her to BC, the next day off we went off to the Barbers!

I recommended that Shaloy go a Barber to do her BC, as hairdressers charge too much for the same thing and Barbers tend to be quite straight to the point. I’ve had a few friends tell me that when they have been to the hairdresser the stylist has tried to convince them not to cut their hair off or they have not cut enough off.

Once we got to the Barbershop, I think I was more nervous than Shaloy was! Even though Shaloy is technically an adult, I thought I might be blamed for her decision and for encouraging her to cut off her hair. In our family as well as in many other families, Hair is a big deal particularly long hair, my Jamaican Grandmother once asked me to promise not to cut my hair again as I always used to cut if off every summer when I was relaxed.

Shaloy’s Mum also has really long thick relaxed healthy hair that she takes great pride in.  I was dreading what her Mum would say once she saw her practically bald eldest daughter!

When it was our turn the Barber asked what Shaloy was having done and I said “she wants to cut it all off” The Barber asked Shaloy once if she was sure she wanted to cut if ALL off and once she said “yes definitely” he went at it!

Here’s the story of Shaloy’s Big chop in pictures…

Before, putting a brave face on...

Before – Slightly nervous

SONY DSC

Before, healthy relaxed hair (as healthy as relaxed hair can be)

Loosened the bun, ready for the scissors!

Loosened the bun, ready for the scissors!

Last chance cuz, are you sure?

Last chance cuz, are you sure?

She was sure!

She was sure!

New growth, fresh and free!

There is no going back now… Still smiling though

Shaping and trimming

Shaping and trimming

Looking good...

Looking good…

All done, slightly faded and curved at the back for a touch more feminity.

All done, slightly faded and curved at the back for a touch more femininity.

Throwing the chemically processed hair in the bin.

Throwing the chemically processed hair in the bin.

Out with the old...

Out with the old…

Only £10.00!  what a bargain tell me if you know a hairdresser who would do the same thing for less than a tenner!

Only £10.00! what a bargain tell me if you know a hairdresser who would do the same thing for less than a tenner!

 

SONY DSC

My mid-length ‘fro on the left, Shaloy’s sassy big chop on the right. Love you Cuz! xxx

Progress... 3 months later

Progress… 3 months later

New Colour

New Colour

More Before and Afters

More Before and Afters

Thanks for reading,

Luv

Sian

X

2 thoughts on “Shaloy’s Big Chop!

Leave a Reply

