Birthday Holiday Part 3: California (then back to Vegas)

Hi my Cakers Bakers and Beauties!

This is the third and final part of my birthday holiday blog.

Tonia, Rai, Hubby and I piled in the car with lots of snacks and water and made the 4 hour trip to Rancho Cucamonga in California, we stayed in a nice simple hotel and on the way we drove through some fantastic scenery the mountains were so beautiful. 

The main reason for us going to California was to visit  LA and Knott’s Berry Farm a famous theme park. Unfortunately Tonia hurt her foot so we didn’t make it to LA which was about another 2-3 hours drive away from where we were and making the journey on public transport with the wheelchair was not feasible, the public transport infrastructure in that part of USA was not easily accessible or well connected. I have already been to LA, so I really wanted Hubby to experience it, but that will be another trip.  

Knott’s Berry farm was very accessible and we were given a special pass so that we could get on the rides at specific times without queuing. It was very cool in California and we had only bought summer clothes on our trip, it was really cool to the point where I felt cold. The rides were good and we got around the park quickly and easily. I’d like to thank Tonia again for my birthday treat, we had such an amazing time. 

Here are some photos of the day:

PicMonkey Collage (2)

 

I got to try funnel cake for the first time ever, It was delicious but all 4 of us couldn't finish it!

I got to try funnel cake for the first time ever, It was delicious but all 4 of us couldn’t finish it!

On the way back to the hotel we briefly stopped off at the Beach it was too cold to swim or anything but it was nice to get my feet wet and just look at the ocean, I feel so calm when I look at a large body of water even if the water itself is rough at the time, eventually I have to live by the ocean…  

PicMonkey Collage (3)

 

The next day we went shopping in Ontario Mills a huge mall 5 minutes drive from our hotel, I wont bore you with my “haul” but I got some really nice outfits,shoes and jewellery we shopped all day and eventually got kicked out of the mall… lol I’m happy to report that the mall was completely accessible we had no problems getting around with the wheel chair at all.  

 

After 3 days in Cali we went back to Vegas and chilled for a couple of days  until my Birthday!

On the morning of my birthday we went to Caesar’s Palace another huge hotel on the strip, to have brunch. Caesar’s Palace has a famous buffet called the Bacchanal Buffet for $50 each and some change you can eat as much as you like with unlimited champagne or mimosas. I’m not usually a buffet person I think they are dirty and breeding grounds for food poisoning with lukewarm food and people touching the food with their bare hands. The Bacchanal Buffet however was AMAZING!!! The food was of an incredible quality and so well presented not to mention delicious! I can’t even begin to describe all of the dishes so here are some photos of that stupendous brunch…

Food Glorious food!

Food Glorious food!

After Brunch I gambled for the first time ever! It was only a fruit machine but I won! So I quit while I was ahead, cashed my coupon in and we met Tonia’s Uncle Jimmy who helped us to get discounted tickets for Cirque du Soleil – Zumanity. The Las Vegas Strip is easier to get around in during the day time and we strolled along the strip with relative ease. The waterfall you see in the photos below are at the entrance of where Tonia lives, obviously it’s a man-mad waterfall as it’s in the middle of the dessert, but it’s still a nice peaceful oasis.

PicMonkey Collage (4)   

Later that evening I put on a cocktail dress and 6 inch-heels and we headed out to see Zumanity – yes I was still pushing a wheelchair but it was still my birthday! Zumanity was a good show but I do not have any photos or footage because we were expressly asked not to record or take photos of the performance.

I had a fantastic birthday even though I was exhausted by the end of the day!

What a beautiful mess I was on my birthday. On the right New York New York Hotel where Zumanity was performed, the hotel also has a roller-coaster built around it! Bottom right is the hotel Excalibur.

What a beautiful mess I was on my birthday. On the right New York New York Hotel where Zumanity was performed, the hotel also has a roller-coaster built around it! Bottom right is the hotel Excalibur.

On our last day we took Tonia and Rai to the Bacchanal Buffet as a small thank you for hosting us and looking after us in their home like we were family, I would have never imagined I could make and meet such an amazing lady through my blog. I look forward to hosting Tonia in London when ever she decides to visit. 

2014-06-15 22.06.57-2

Thank you for sharing this trip with me.

Luv Sian

x

2014-05-27 12.36.45

 

 

3 thoughts on “Birthday Holiday Part 3: California (then back to Vegas)

Leave a Reply

